The Offside Rule Explained....

Last updated : 19 January 2003 By Steve Hermon
To Kenny,

During yesterday's dissapointing 1-1 draw at home to Wimbledon, although seeing you finally score your first goal in ten, I also saw you being caught offside God knows how many times!

So for your's and Wolves' benefit I decided to dig out the offside rule from, so these are official!


Law 11 - Offside

Offside Position
It is not an offence in itself to be in an offside position.

A player is in an offside position if: (What not to do Kenny!)

* he is nearer to his opponent' goal line than both the ball and the second last opponent.

A player is not in an offside position if: (You can do this Kenny!)

he is in his own half of the field of play
* he is level with the second last opponent
* he is level with the last two opponents

No Offence
There is no offside offence if a player receives the ball directly from:

* A goal kick
* a throw-in
* a corner kick.

So there you go Kenny! I hope that has cleared it up for you!

There were 6 offsides for Wolves on Saturday and I'm pretty sure it was you Kenny, who was caught offisde for at least five of them!

So make sure you read over the rules a few times and then there shouldn't be a problem!

More Lessons coming soon:

'How To Use Your Right Foot Properly' for Mark Kennedy and 'How To Kick A Ball Properly' for Lee Naylor.

C'mon Wolves!!